Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I enjoy visiting both this forum and the Katanaplanet forum, and since the members of Katanaplanet are as enthusiastic about the Kat 600 as the 500R riders are about their bikes, I thought I'd pose these questions:

How does the 500R stack up against the Kat 600? Is the Kat that much faster than the 500? Anybody have experience on both machines?

·
Registered
8,245 Posts
Okay, I have plenty of real world experience with this one.

The 500R and the kat 600 are almost identical on speed. I think 130+ the kat is a bit faster, but you don't need to go that fast anyway.

The 500R also handles better, it is 125ish lbs lighter than the katana. The old kats are just dang heavy.

My roomate has a katana 600, he has ridden the exact same amount of time as me. My 500R (even before I modified the heck out of it) was quite a bit more nimble. When I ride the katana I just feel like I'm riding a garbage truck, those things are heavy.

This isn't to say I don't like the katanas, I think they are great bikes, but the 500R is closer to a SS in handling characteristics than the katanas.

·
Registered
27 Posts
I don't have any experience on the two but it seems the bikes are in different classes. A 500 is a two cylinder that sells for less than $5000 and the Katana is a four cylinder that sells for more than $6000.

A ZZR600 Kawasaki would be more of a comparison to the Katana.

A gs500f would be a better comparison to the ninja 500.

Just my thoughts on it.........

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·