Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to motorcycles and have never been on one before. I am going to get my license and take a training course in May 2005. I will be buying a used bike, but I need help to choose which one.

Since I know very little about motorcycles, I have narrowed my options down to 4 bikes based on apearance alone. (and not getting something with too much power)

Kawasaki - Sportbikes
Ninja 500R
Ninja ZX-6R
Kawasaki - Retro/Naked
ZR-7S
Kawasaki - Sport Touring
ZZ-R600

Could someone please make me 5 seperate lists using the criteria below as most important for each list for the bikes above.

1. Fuel Gauge - I heard that the 500R doesn't have one??
2. Exhaust Noise - Quieter is better. I don't like loud bikes.
3. Acceleration - 0 mph to 60 mph? or 0 Kph to 100 Kph?
4. Radio - Does it have one?
5. Brakes - Do they all have front and back brakes?

Please don't think that the above features are the only thing I care about. I'm just starting off with some simple questions first.

Thank you. :D

Oops. One more thing... In regards to Noise of a Motorcycle, could you please tell me an approx Decibel Level based on this Chart...

http://www.chem.purdue.edu/chemsafety/Training/PPETrain/dblevels.htm

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
1. Fuel gauge is not a big deal - just push the odometer trip button and go. When you run out of fuel you'll still have your reserve for about 30-40miles.
2. Don't know.
3. Don't know, but the 600's will get you there faster than the 500.
4. All do not have radios.
5. All of the bikes you mentioned will have front and rear brakes.

Someone else will jump in with more info for you.

·
Registered
8,245 Posts
The 500r is the slowest accelerating, but it still accelerates faster than a corvette. A motorcycle is a different world than a car. I'd suggest the 500r over the others for your first bike.

Cale said:
Cycle Magazine:
Performance

Standing start ¼ mile 12.73 sec. @