Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I am Ron Wade, 62 yo, retired and live on the nw side of Indianapolis. Any other Indy people out there? I'm a total newby to this web site and have found it very informative. I was made aware of the site by a member who was also tired of the VROC bull s---.

The first of May, I bought a used 02 Nomad with 13K miles on it and with very noisy Bridgestone tires that I just had to replace. After some research on the VROC site, I decided the tire to go with was the Dunlop 404's. I now have 8K miles on these tires and these have gotten to be almost as noisy as the Bridgestones. For the record, I have carried the recommended 40# pressure in each tire.

I contacted Dunlop and have a meeting set up with the tire rep on Monday. In the initial look see by the tire selling MC shop, the shop guy told me that 404's were not designed for the heavier cruisers and that is probably why they are cupped so bad. Is that correct??????

He also said that I have exceeded wear expectations on the 404's with 8,000 miles on them. Since I hadn't used 404"s before I couldn't argue but, that seems like way too short of a tread life. I still have over 50% center tread left on the tires.

"IF", I say "IF", I get some sort of adjustment from Dunlop, I sure don't want to put 404's back on. They make a 491 tire but, my understanding is that they don't make a rear tire our size (180/50/16).

I am curious to know if any other "heavy" cruiser bike owners have had this cupping problem with 404's and what eventually happened to them?

I'm also looking for suggestions on 150/80/16 tires that are a harder compound, high mileage tire. I know the Metzler 880's have sizes for the Nomad but, are there any other options?

Thanks.................

Ron
[email protected]

·
RIP Deron Harden :-(
32,545 Posts
tires