Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Bobber Lover
319 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to get a second motorcycle that will become a daily rider. I want to paint it a color and finish that is the easiest and quickest to clean.

I am leaning towards a flat black or flat color of some sort as it seems you could wash or rinse off without having to dry it like gloss paints with clear coats. I have no experience with flat finishes and how they clean up.

I work at a manufacturing plant that is dusty and dirty and can't ride my gloss black bike to work. I want a finish that can basically be rinsed off and riden and still look decent.

The bike will be a Kawasaki 800 and will be converted to a bobber styling.

Any opinions or help is greatly appreciated

·
+2 Ring of Invisibility
137 Posts
anything black or white is gonna show dirt. maybe you can see what color the dust is. tan or brown maybe? i like the idea of a flat paint too.

·
I'm your Huckleberry
3,317 Posts
White actually stays looking clean unless you ride through something like mud. Every day dirt and dust doesn't really stand out...until you clean it that is ;)

Fact of the matter is...nothing is harder to keep looking clean than gloss black. So much so, in fact, that my father refuses to ever buy another black vehicle. Just about any other color will be a drastic improvement in looking clean. Pick one you like and go with it.

·
Registered
1,615 Posts
A silver bike is the way to go if ease of maintenance is what you're after. They don't show dirt very easily, and most other blemishes are concealed as well.

·
Bobber Lover
319 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Anyone know how the flat paints wash up?

In addition can you have a flat matt clearcoat added to the paint job, if so are there positives or negatives to this process.

Thanks

DC

·
I'm NOT the boss
929 Posts