Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay i am interested in buying a bike. I know what kind and everything but there is a slight problem. My parents. They dont want me getting one. Their main con of getting one is not that i will be a bad driver or go too fast but that somebody will hit me and hurt me. I need a good presentation for them to allow me to get a motorcycle. What are some good things to say to them about safety. IM me or Send an email or post a reply.

Thanks
Email: [email protected]

AIM: Stormin Mormon6

·
Registered
10 Posts
I heard somewhere, maybe the class I took, that the majority of motorcycle accidents are people that are self taught. Tell them you will take the class, it was a ridiculous percantage if i remember correctly maybe someone knows for sure. Or do what I did, my parenst were completely against it but I took the class anyway and got a bike, they didnt talk to me for a few days but now everythings fine

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I know i have said that. It was like 88 percent. They are fine with me being able to ride a bike safely. They think someone will hit me(haveing it not be my fault at all). They are scared of other drivers, not me

·
AZ's Official Mechanic
5,201 Posts
sorry man theres not really any aurguments you can have with your parents that will really change their minds.
my dad/mom have been around bikes all their lives. my mom bought me my first bike but she also knew i was responsible. i had my small crashs from inexperience etc.
im guessing your only 16 so you have a couple more years to go before you considered "grown up" plus i imagine your parents are paying for your insurance etc. if thats the case then your just gonna have to wait.
as for YOU not being "AFRAID of other drivers" thats a bad attitude to have. other drivers are the reason for my crash in 2002 that almost killed me. people dont look for bikes !!
good luck man

·
Registered