Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to find prices on complete rebuild kits for the engine of a 91 kawasaki ninja zx11C2 but am having a hard time finding any. I have found many other bike kits on ebay for around 300 dollars. Aftermarket of course. My engine is burning oil due to faulty valve seals and I am not sure as to whether the rings are shot. I will be doing a pressure test after new years but I would like to know if it would be cost effective to just by a whole kit and replace it all whether it needs or not. Or do you guys think I should just find out what it needs and replace on that?

·
Premium Member
2,408 Posts
i am not a mechanic.... and that is why I always take my machines to the same trusted dealer i have gone too for years now. I just simply pay his small fee and he inspects it.... it might cost me $30 to have it looked at.... but at least i know that i really do know what is wrong and i don't spend 300 on something that is not needed...... in short.... go find a trusted garage.. let them decide what you need.

·
Eddie Lawson is God!
5,683 Posts
Do the head. That bottom end will go 100K if you (Or more likely the PO) didn't ride it like an idiot. If you are looking for a box full of rebuild kit, you won't find one. Belly up to the parts counter of a KAWASAKI shop, and order a top end gasket kit. Made by KAWASAKI, if valve stem oil seals are not included, buy a set of KAWASAKI valve seals.

·
Registered
1,221 Posts
What ELR said. There's no 'kit' made by the manufacturers for rebuilding bikes. If your valve seals are leaking, you'll probably be fine if you just replace them and have the valve seats redone. Check your ring end gap while you have it apart, but I'll bet it's just fine unless you have a lot of hard miles on them. If you just can't resist doing more, you could put a light hone on the cylinders and slip in new rings, and have a basically new motor.

·
Registered