Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello, I'm new to motorcycling, and have been researching for my first bike. I looked into the sub 5k range because of my budget. since gas is getting so high, and here in VA cycling seems very popular, bikes are holding thier value so well that It seems I can buy a new bike and sell it in a year or two and have money for down payment on next one!

this class is pretty thin, I was looking at the 500ltd, honda VLX, and Savage 650.

The 500ltd seems to be the best bike here, although I cannot seem to find and tests about the savage. does anyone have a clue about this bike?

well to the point I am 6'2" and 300lbs(not muscle). will I be able to ride this bike on the interstate? 70mph is all I need. would this be a good 'my first bike' for me or am I simply too big for it?

·
Registered
2,159 Posts
HONESTLY

The best thing to do is to just go set on them and feel which one fits teh best. Set on it for quite a while, and let the salesperson know what you are doing so they don't freak out or bother you. Feel the position of the bars, the controls and how you feel setting in the saddle. Any of the bikes 250cc and above will get you to the speed limit...they just may take longer. When you decide upon the bike, take the MSF course, which will provide a 250cc and then get your motorcycle license and money together your insurance, and go get the bike!

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
re

welcome yusuf :wink:

you could ride a 500 ,no problem but i would consider a vulcan 800 classic for a guy your size :wink: you would be much more comfortable,and a used 800 can be had for less than
5k. as far as running 70mph the 800 would feel alot more stable at those speeds,which
inspires confidence,but the ltd is a great bike and very reliable :wink:

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
what are the differences in the 800, 800classic, and the 750?
it looks like the 750 is newstuff?

·
Registered