Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off. Hello everyone. I'm relatively new to motorcycling, and just bought my first bike a year ago (1981 Suzuki GSX400)
I'm now wanting a bigger bike to drive across the country on with my girl friend, and at 300$ there is a 750ltd that seems to fit the bill for a restore project.

I am a mechanical engineering student, but I know I will have troubles, so here I am.

I am picking the bike on on the weekend. so far i know that the bike runs on one cylinder. it did run 2 years ago, but then the owner wife passes away, and he hasn't had the heart to ride with out her. The head pipes are rusted, but correct me if I'm wrong, I believe that they are double walled.

I will likely use this thread to ask for help, and no doubted will start other threads.
I am part of the GSresources website and community, and I hope that you guys and gals are as supportive......you seem to be

·
Vintage bike addict
4,812 Posts
First items you'll need will be a bucket of carburetor cleaner and a manual. New spark plugs and battery. There's a lot of great people here with sage advice.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hahahaha.. if that is all I need, I'll be jumping for joy!
I really hope that this turns out well, I have only ever restored inline twins.
my resume is short but I'm fond of every bike. 1981 Suzuki GSX400L (My baby, always getting mods) a 1986 suzuki GS400E and a 1973 Honda CB350.
I am presently in the process of being made engine captain of my university Formula1 SAE racing team, we use a Hond F4I, 600cc engine.
I still consider my self a grasshopper, and every bike has.. um.. 'Character', which I guess i will 'enjoy' getting to know.

·
Vintage bike addict
4,812 Posts