Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Novice Tank Roller
15,810 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I happened to read about the new potential rules regarding exhaust noise on motorcycles. A standard is being proposed that seems to be viable to enforce.

I'm not a proponent of running straight pipes or anything like that, but at the same time, to me, this kind of smells of the same slipery slope that exists with the gun control debate.

Assuming that legislators pass such a law and set standard readings at 92 and 96 decibels, what then stops some sensitive-eared legislator from passing an amendment to then lower it to 82 and 86, then lower, etc.

Perhaps I'm thinking about it wrong, but I'd bet that most reasonable people would agree that straight pipes are the problem. Why not just issue law enforcement with broom handles. if they slide all the way up, the pipes are illegal. Otherwise, leave us alone!

Personally, I vote a resounding NO to SAE J2825!

Let the debate begin! :D

SAE J2825 Standard : Cyclepedia Press LLC

·
Registered
699 Posts
Assuming that legislators pass such a law and set standard readings at 92 and 96 decibels, what then stops some sensitive-eared legislator from passing an amendment to then lower it to 82 and 86, then lower, etc.
Same could be said for what HAS happened to a lot of government social programs. Which is my primary misgivings on the proposed Health Care bill.

Why not just issue law enforcement with broom handles. if they slide all the way up, the pipes are illegal. Otherwise, leave us alone!
That's what they carry (a dowel) when they do on-the-spot checks on off-highway-vehicles out here. But that's just a 'is something there' check. It has to be a USFS approved spark arrestor to be compliant.

The test has to be legally enforcable.

·
Registered
15,327 Posts
Way to stir the pot, Dave. :lol: You know this will eventually head to the trash bin. Maybe not today or tomorrow, but it'll find it's way there.