Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, Im new to oth the forum and riding. In fact I havent even taken the safety course yet. In my area its booked up until 2005. Anyways I have a 1982 750 ltd 4 cylinder. I am learning or trying to learn about shifting gears, but I have a question. I know that the first down is first, then up is neutral, up again is 2nd, up for3rd, and so on. My question is though, when I go into first i can feel the gear kick in. Again when it goes into nuetral i can tell cause i can move the bike back and forth without the clutch, but i cant get it into 2nd or higher. What am i doing wrong? Again I want to take the course but its filled till next year. any other ideas? I will wait my time but that bike is calling me. Thanks

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
re

welcome sarpup! glad you found us :wink:

the upshift from 1st to 2nd is the hardest shift to make on most bikes
assuming the tranny is in good working order just hit second with
authority and firmly and quickly making a slow shift from 1st 2nd will
be noisy and clunky if done slowly and sissylike :lol: :wink:

·
VRA National President
203 Posts
Are you having a problem shifting into 2nd while standing still with the bike not running, standing still with the bike running, or while riding?

It strikes my recollection that there can be some pretty heavy resistance on an older bike shifting into 2nd with the bike running but at a dead stop. Maybe my clutch needed adjusting. That was a long time ago. :?:

Anyway, if the bike is moving in 1st gear and you try shifting into 2nd with the clutch the whole way in, it should slip right into 2nd gear with a quick firm push up with your toe.

I recommend finding a friend who rides who will work with you in a safe empty parking lot. Learning from forums will be a slow way to go...

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
gears