Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My oil level indicator is on the right side of my bike. I should check it while the bike is on the kickstand and not the center stand correct? They give 2 very different readings.

·
Registered
380 Posts
Center stand is correct. Since the bike leans to the left when on the kickstand. Some folks I've heard will have a second pair of eyes look at the level while they sit on the bike and hold it level with their feet on the ground. Depends on how picky you decide to be I guess...

·
Registered
605 Posts
I freakin hate newbs, who can't understand simple text written in a form other than standard l33t talk.

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
Be careful not to overfill oil as you will probably blow a gasket! Line it up between the fill lines - works 4 me!

·
Registered
78 Posts
im new to bikes but i would not personal judge the oil level while the bike is running cuz well its doing its thing then.. if its full when its off then its full when its running.. the only time i would do the turn on then off is after you change the filter cuz it needs to fill up so then ya youll be low on oil after..

·
AZ's Official Mechanic
5,201 Posts
Stuart said:
yeah, also have the bike running when checking how the oil is,
HOLY COW IS THIS WRONG !!! :shock:
DO NOT CHECK THE OIL WITH THE BIKE RUNNING !!
start the bike, let it warm up a bit, SHUT IT OFF and wait a few minutes, put it on LEVEL ground and hold the bike up straight, then check at the site glass, add if needed.
also if it has a dipstick then you DO NOT screw it back in, (on MOST bikes,READ THE MANUAL for your bike for correct procedure)

·
Registered
458 Posts
Dr. Feelgood said:
My oil level indicator is on the right side of my bike. I should check it while the bike is on the kickstand and not the center stand correct? They give 2 very different readings.