Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright hope this work it's my first time posting pics om here.

Basically what you get to see is my big butt bent over tearin a kz650 apart to refurbish the thing. With fingers crossed back together and running better than ever! I had some help from my air force buddies!

Attachments

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Alright some more pics of the tear down...

Any ideas on how to rebuild the wiring harness I've checked out KZ650.info they had diagrams that make no sense to me. Anyone wanna build me one for less than a hundred buck?

Attachments

·
Registered
792 Posts
I've got a project 650 I'm starting.
The harness that came with it doesn't look too good either, so I bought a second one off ebay.
I'll use the best one, and repair any wires using the wire and connectors from the other.
I have a running 650 where I used parts of another harness I had at the time to add the "WG Coil Mod" and an electronic ignition from an '80s 650.
Everything is plug and ride, and can be switched back to points by just unplugging etc.
Having the right colour wires and right size connectors as spares sure comes in handy.
Just disconnect the battery while doing any electrical work so you don't short anything out and fry something.

·
Registered
792 Posts
Sgt. Sleepy, your 1978 P.O.S. KZ650C doesn't actually look that bad.

Here's what I'm starting with:

·
Registered
276 Posts
Sgt. Sleepy:

It looks like you've got a great starting point. Unless really messed up, make proper solder splices with shrink tube sleeves, then lay it out and spay with some silicone protectant and work everything over wire by wire with a tooth brush. This cleans and restores some flexibility. But if insulation is cracking off when the wire is flexed, then it is beyond hope.