Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
President, L7 Club
462 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In preparing to do the CaddmanQ air mod and reading through Constrictor's tutorial, I noticed that soldering is involved. Well, I've never done that before. I don't own a soldering gun or solder, and frankly don't know if there's an art to it or if it's pretty straight-forward, meathead stuff.

I only need it for two (2) solder points, so I'm also wondering if there's another way around this in lieu of soldering? Maybe in-line connectors that you simply crimp with a wire cutting tool?

As always, any/all help and input appreciated,
Daryl:confused:

·
Premium Member
2,603 Posts
Its not hard to do, but I'm a bit confused what you need to solder. Your post lists that you have a PCIII and that should be plug and play on an 05+ Nomad. No need for the resistor if you have a PCIII -or did I miss something here ?

·
President, L7 Club
462 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

·
humble pie consumer
3,853 Posts
In preparing to do the CaddmanQ air mod and reading through Constrictor's tutorial, I noticed that soldering is involved. Well, I've never done that before. I don't own a soldering gun or solder, and frankly don't know if there's an art to it or if it's pretty straight-forward, meathead stuff.

I only need it for two (2) solder points, so I'm also wondering if there's another way around this in lieu of soldering? Maybe in-line connectors that you simply crimp with a wire cutting tool?

As always, any/all help and input appreciated,
Daryl:confused:
if it turns out you have to solder after all let me know. i've been trained in nasa qulified soldering. i'll come help out and teach you what i know.

·
Registered
3,156 Posts
Read just a tad further where it says

The resistor mod only applies to fuel injected bikes. If you have a carbed bike, you will need to manually adjust your carberators using new jets.