Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I am a newbie here. And I am glad I have found this site. Already I have read several post that have been very helpful.

I enjoy riding and getting/keeping my 1983 Kz550 running smooth. Hence I haven't been very successful lately.

I've owned my bike for about 1 year. And it wasn't perfect when I got it. Wires hanging out, carb problems, and probably more problems that I am not aware of yet. I ran it last year with problems and now would like to correct those problems. I had the carbs rebuilt and it ran great.

Now there is electrical problems. I have been starting it up periodically and letting it run for 15 minutes, while storing it for winter. It has been starting great until the other day. I went to start the bike the lights turned on but nothing happens when I push the starter button. I tried jump starting first with another motorcycle but same thing. Nothing would happen when I pushed the start button. No cranking at all. When it didn't start I tried jump starting it with my conversion van. Still nothing happened. No cranking. There seems to be a broken connection somewhere. I just don't know where to start looking. I did check the fuses and they all were good.

I will try a multimeter and look for shorts. If you have a little time it sure would be nice to have a little assist.

·
Registered
11,328 Posts
Starter Solenoid Checkout

Some simple steps to determine what is working and what's not:

1.Fully charge and test the battery(most bike shops can load test the battery, and then use a floating ball hydrometer to check specific gravity in the charged cells).

2.Clean all battery terminals of corrosion.

3.Tighten all starting related connections(Positive RED(+) battery terminal, Negative BLACK(-)terminal) and from the terminal to the engine case. All connections must be clean and tight.