Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ride a legendary Kawasaki Drifter 1500 :) . If if stop in second or third gear at a traffic light or stop sign, I will have a difficult time shifting to first. I have to try shifting gear several times to get it to the first. Is this normal, or am I doing something wrong:confused: ? I have been riding for three years and about 15,000 miles.

·
Ed Scott - Old-Time Biker
1,183 Posts
No Drifter in my garage, unfortunately. I always downshift before stopping, though, so no real info for ya. I've accidentally left it in second at lights a few times and it has no problem going from there. I'd just say get it going in 3rd and downshift soon as you're stable... but maybe get it looked at. On my little dual sport I can't downshift at a stop sometimes and if I just bump the clutch, then it will downshift fine.

·
Registered
362 Posts
My 1500 Nomad is pretty much the same. Don't stop in second or third; bring it all the way down to first, then slip it into neutral and let the clutch out right before you stop. This is not alway possible, so if you have to stop in a higher gear, try to get it into first. If it doesn't seem to want to shift, let the clutch out slightly and tap the shifter. Experiment with it. It takes a "touch", you'll find it with experience.

·
Line rider
326 Posts
Motorcycle transmissions don't like shifting if the bike isn't moving or the motor isn't under a load. Next time you're stopped and trying to get down to first try letting the clutch out a little, do not apply throttle. As you let the clutch out try pressing down a gear, it should click. Just don't let the clutch out all the way. ;)

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #6