Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently switched work locations and instead of walking to work I now make a 54 mile round trip commute. With gas prices this encouraged me go back to being a daily rider. The last time I was a daily rider was about 15 years, two kids, 1 wife, and 50 pounds ago. For the last few years I have been weekend cruiser, the occasional ride for work related stuff.

Some things I noticed right off is that my handling skills had badly deteriorated. I was having all kinds of issue handling my V2000 Classic cornering, sway and so forth. That brings me to the first issue:

- Check Your Tire Pressure. The V2000 calls for 36# in the front and 42# in the rear on my bike. When I checked they were 10# and 21# respectively. Wow, what a difference properly inflated tires make! They have probably been low for over a year, I just never noticed until I started riding every day again.

Does anyone have any other suggestions on making the transition back into the saddle a little easier? I mean I know how to ride, and all my courses and so forth are current within the last couple of years.

Just things that are a good idea for daily riding?

I should add that my daily rider is a 2006 V2K. I purchased it new and it is 100% stock. It has about 8,000 miles on it.

·
Novice Tank Roller
15,810 Posts
depending on where your commute takes you, I'd suggest a smaller more nimble bike. Not sure that's in your budget or plans though. Dealiing with traffic is my biggest commute problem. Otherwise, I just work on being extra attentive to idiots in cages trying to kill me.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Tip 1 and 2

I ride 365 days a year 76 miles round trip. Your right about tire pressure I have to adjust mine about once a week. Start saving now because it does not take long as a daily driver to wear out tires and oil change time sneaks up on you.