Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a newbie I didn't realize that I'm too tall for my Vulcan 800 until I put a few hundred miles on it. Now my butt hurts, and I'm guessing I should be sitting much farther back (or up?) than I am with the standard seat. Are there any seats/mods that will fix this problem?

Thanks!

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
re

if you have the stock seat i don't you how you made it that far :lol:
i changed mine the third day to a mustang solo saddle and wheeeew
what a relief :wink:

corbin and mustang seats are the most popular - both good seats
the mustang will seat you a little lower -you might consider some risers
if your too bent over the bars :wink:

·
Registered
27 Posts
sore butt

Naterator,
I'm a tall guy too, 6'4 :roll: I have a 2000 Drifter 800 and I don't have access to a new seat so here is what I did. :arrow: Sit on your bike and mark where the bones of your butt meet the seat with your fingers, then dismount and mark it again with a piece of chalk. Do it a couple of times to be sure.
Take off the seat, strip away the cover down to where the marks are, double check before you go any further that you have the right places. Cut a conical shaped piece of foam about 3 inches wide. The point of the cone being against the cover, but do not go all the way through the foamrubber. Try to leave 1-8th, less than a quarter, of an inch against the cover. Afterwards you will have in your had one cone shaped piece of foam about 2 inches high and 3 inches accross the bottom. :shock: Do it again under the other mark, and before you staple it all back together again put it on the bike and sit on it. Wiggle around and see if it is hitting the spots you want. If so the reassemble and ride. In case you don't like the ride after this be sure to put the cones back in for the next guy.:wink:
I have nearly 20,000 miles :lol: on this seat and can ride forever. Good luck

·
Premium Member