Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,875 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ever since I started riding a little over a year and-a-half ago, I always read or heard about how litre bikes are "top heavy" or are "huge" and have to be "lugged" around the twisties or through traffic. Then people would add that the power of a litre bike is too difficult to control. If you wanted the perfect combination of power and agility, it was in a 600cc SuperSport or it was in the coveted GSX-R 750. "...the 600's are faster into the through the turns whether they be on the track or in the canyons...lighter, more flickable than the 1000's...".

Well, I look at the spec's for the new litre SuperSports and with things like the TCBI that the ZX10-R has or the 388 lbs. dry CBR1000RR, are those claims of the litre bike being a "gigantic, heavy monster" to handle a thing of the past?

I ask because in a 500R forum there was a thread discussing downshifting which became this "lively" discussion on the pros/cons of clutchless shifting, when it's best...racing this, racing that...you don't know what you're talking about, blah...blah...blah. Well, I joked that if they got a litre bike no one would have to worry about downshifting because they could do all of their city riding in first gear. An interesting response I got was, "...That is true. however, is not the same to try and maneuver a behemoth like a litre bike as it is a nimble thing like my little ex-250...". I wanted to respond and say that as far as the Z1000 goes, I think it's easier to ride than the 500R (admittedly I attribute a big part of that from the fact that the 500R is 20 y/o technology). Please note that I'm not saying that my Z1000 is as easy to "flick" as a 250R.

So what do you all think about opinions of the latest litre Street Bikes (SuperSport or Naked)? Mostly fact or fiction?

·
Registered
649 Posts