Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there,

I was looking into buying a new ninja 500R. This will be my first bike. I have been riding dirtbikes and ATVs since I was nine years old. The only on road experience I have is with a Honda Magna 750. Anyway, I wanted to know what some people pay for insurance on this bike. Also if they have any tickets or accidents on there record.

One other thing, how much should I have to pay. I'm 21 years old with one accident on my record from back when i was 17.

Any Info would be great.

Andrew9578

·
Registered
3 Posts
I have heard from some different websites, which I cannot remember at the moment, that you can expect to pay around $150/6mo on a brand new 500r. This obviously changes according to where you live, your driving record, etc. but whatever you pay I'm sure it won't be much at all. Also, I don't know how it's handled where you live but here in Maryland whenever you have an accident/violation, after three years it no longer plays a negative effect on your insurance rates. It sort of gets erased or overlooked. You might want to look into that as would most likely help you save even more money.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Having just bought a new 500R the other week, hopefully I can help. Keep in mind this is my very first bike and I live in a very congested area - Washington, DC suburbs. However, I have a perfect driving record and am only months away from that magic 25 year old mark. I was a little dissapointed by the quotes I got.

GEICO - don't even think about it, and my family and I have had Geico our whole lives with spotless records. You ready...they wanted $3300 per year full coverage. I did everything short of calling them idiots. $2200 of the was collision. I told them I didn't need insurance costing more than half the price of the bike.........