Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Own The Day
2,809 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am no expert my any measure when it comes to riding motorcycles. I've got five or six years of experience, and no professional instructor training, and that's that. Still, however, in the unofficial capacity of passing on what I do know, I have learned that to teach basic motorcycle riding is indeed one of the most gratifying things I have ever done.

As you know, I was in a group of people that bought a mutual friend a motorcycle, and it was decided - based off the fact that I had the lightest bike - that I would at refamiliarize him with the extreme basics. Last week, I started getting that wheel rolling, and we've already put in four or five lessons at local parking lots.

This is where I get all emotional now. ;) To be directly involved in helping someone reacquaint themself in a hobby he loves is a blast.

Of course, my friend's a touch nervous as he's been away from the hobby so long, so I take it slow. First is basic controls, then comes inspections. Gear follows.

Then comes the practical stuff. Using the MSF course book and memories from the practical lessons, I started him off with the standard 'friction-zone' lessons. That led to 'walking the bike', which then was followed by 'walking the bike in a turn', all on my Ninja (as I didn't want him to have to fight his heavier 1100). That continued on for at least a couple hours worth of lessons (each day is approx an hour an a half) before I could see that he had it down. Repeat, this time on the Shadow - it's the bike he has to use, and it has a more managable power band. Another couple hours worth of doing just that.