Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
237 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure some of you might remember, but I am practically completely new to motorcycling and motorycles themselfs. I'm waiting to get my owners manual and the service manuals, need the money lol. But my throttle doesn't seem to snap back all the way and it does it at a kinda slow pace.
The bike is a 2000 Kawa 250R. It has 7544 miles on it and needs a bit of TLC. And that is why I'm here after doing a quick search through the forums. I was just wondering what might be going on and if any one could tell me how to fix this or if its hard or even if I have to buy somthing new. Thank you in advance. Oh and like I said, I'm new to motorcycles so if you could be as descriptive as possible or maybe even take pictures of similar parts, that would be great. Thank you again.

·
Registered
237 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Um, like I said, I'm totally new and have no idea how to do that lol. any tips?

·
Registered
237 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Also another question. Can I use WD-40 to clean the gunk off the chain and lube the throttle and clutch cables by the handles on the handle bars? Will it hurt those components? Also I know I have to lube the chain but I can still use WD-40 to clean the gunk first right? And also to clean other hinges too right? Like kickstand pivots and pivots for my handle bars, passenger pegs and such aswell correct?

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
WD-40 should be alright on the o-ring chain. If my chain is excessively gunky I use a bicycle chain cleaner (google "grunge brush") with an automotive degreaser, usually whatevers on sale at autoquestzonepartsPA. A nylon brush would work too I suppose, as well as old toothbrushes you might have around. I happen to work at a bike shop so.... yoink. :mrgreen: