Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1998 Kawasaki ZX 11 my bike keep jumping out of second gear. The bike have 15800 mile on it ,however this transmission problem started with about 10000 mile on it. I have purchased a transmission I want to know if anyone have change a transmission out and if so how much trouble is it to do. I have 2 different manual on the bike and it doesn't seem to be a hard job. I am a mechanic by trade but I am a auto mechanic not bike. I am very good with wrenches,so thats not the problem just want to hear from someone that have do this type work before.Any help will be appricated....My cell number is 803-466-1052 if there is someone I can speak to about this before I begain,,,,,

Thanks again

Delano

·
The Cruising Gunsmith
1,459 Posts
I have a 1998 Kawasaki ZX 11 my bike keep jumping out of second gear. The bike have 15800 mile on it ,however this transmission problem started with about 10000 mile on it. I have purchased a transmission I want to know if anyone have change a transmission out and if so how much trouble is it to do. I have 2 different manual on the bike and it doesn't seem to be a hard job. I am a mechanic by trade but I am a auto mechanic not bike. I am very good with wrenches,so thats not the problem just want to hear from someone that have do this type work before.Any help will be appricated....My cell number is 803-466-1052 if there is someone I can speak to about this before I begain,,,,,

Thanks again

Delano
On my KZ750 the "transmission" is all part of the engine and you would have to split the engine case to get at it. If it's not a "hard job" to do on your bike, they must have built that one different than mine. When I looked at what was involved in mine, I didn't even think about it.

Good luck.

·
Registered
598 Posts
Problem might just be bent or worn shift forks.
Check shift forks for wear and straightness.