Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone installed a turbo on a KZ550 or any KZ for that matter. I currently own an 81 and I have a spare turbo from an old Mercedes diesel. I was wondering how much work I'm looking at. Im thinking i will have to fabricate my own blow off valve...any info will help. Also, cost?

·
Registered
30 Posts
i guess ill try and reply to this even though i have no experience turboing a motorcycle..

But from my experience with cars there are a few things you will have to address.. that go alittle bit beyond a "blowoff valve"..

1. Fuel - your adding more air, so on a car you'd need bigger fuel injectors or a big bump in fuel pressure via an adjustable FPR. So for a motorcycle new jetting
2. You'll need to tune the bike to maintain the proper a/f ratio
3. Timing.. you may need to adjust the ignition timing of your bike to prevent detonation on pump gas
4. Installation.. you will have to fabricate custom exhuast manifold, and really the rest of the exhuast
5. Oiling/Cooling of the turbo - You will have to install custom oil lines and coolent lines coming to and from the turbo (some turbos dont have coolent jackets though) The oil/coolent reseviors feeding the turbo should be level with or higher than the turbo so everything flows well.
6. Oil cooler.. just a guess, but your oil may now be much hotter after going through your turbo, do you want that going straight into your engine without additional cooling.
7. Compression ratio.. - is the CR of your engine is too high you'll end up having to run low boost and get bad results generally speaking
8. that BOV you mentioned.. forget it.. just run without one, or plumb the air back in. regardless thats the minor detail of the project IMO
9. brackets - you may need to install a bracket to support the turbo