Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend of mine changed the oil of his VN800 with 10W40 half synthetic motorcycle oil, now he's complaining about a slipping clutch.
Although I'm not an engine expert, it didn't make sense to me.
How could he go wrong with half synthetic oil?
Opinions please..

·
Needs More Cowbell
11,774 Posts
He didn't.
The 800's clutch springs are crap anyway, probably the new oil just made the problem noticable I'm guessing. I'm sure it was already slipping in 4th/5th gear.

·
Needs More Cowbell
11,774 Posts
Replace the clutch springs with some that are 15-20% over spec. They're cheap and save wear on the clutch plates.

·
Nobody Home
1,768 Posts
How could he go wrong with half synthetic oil?
The problem is not synthetic oil, though it is frequently blamed. It's the "friction modifiers" added to many oils. They show up by making already marginal (common, so the lever effort won't offend the hand strength challenged) clutches slip.

·
'09 Vulcan 900 Custom
906 Posts
My guess would be he bought oil with the "energy saving" seal on it. The detergents in that oil are made for cars to help with lubrication, but they can cause damage to clutches and transmissions on bikes. That is the one thing to stay away from with oil really. Other than that, rusty could very well be on the mark. I haven't heard anyone say that oil has caused the problem in real life before, but I have read that in several owners manuals including the one for my bike and my wife's rebel.

Maybe have him drain it and put oil in that doesn't say that on the seal. I use half synth valvoline in my bike and it seems to work great. Something like $4 a qt.

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I'll ask him more about the oil.
He replied that the oil has no additives, like friction modifiers etc.
He also used this oil without problems for other bikes like a Suzuki GSXR.

·
Super Moderator
10,875 Posts