Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1995 Vulcan 500 w/ approx. 17,000 miles on it, the machine runs fine under throttle but I have a problem while idling. One cylinder (the right side) refuses to idle under no choke, idles okay under full and half choke, but will stall out unless you give it some throttle w/ no choke. So my situation is that the bike normally idles only on one cylinder. The sparkplug is fine good color good spark. I immediatley suspected a carburetor problem on that side, so I put some seafoam in the gastank and ran through the whole tank before continuing, with no change. Since I got the bike I've replaced all the hoses going to the carbs.
I'm not a mechanic or anything, but I've learned enough about carburetors since I got the bike to know that pilot jet should be suspect. I took the carbs off this past weekend and removed the pilot jets (both sides to compare) and I don't see a difference. I sprayed the thing down with carb cleaner removed and checked the pilot jets and main jets, sprayed those down. Re-installed the carbs with cautious optimism, but still no change.

I'm going to take the carburetor off again and switch the pilot jets from one side to the other and see if that makes a change, any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
(I accidentally posted this problem to cruisers earlier this week, sorry)

·
AZ's Official Mechanic
5,201 Posts
plug pilot jet or plug pilot jet circuit....you need to get a welding tip cleaner (or very small piece of wire to make sure the pilots are clear- LOOK THRU THEM) and compressed air to blow the carb out (pilot circuit) also make sure the pilot screw isnt closed on that side for some reason....
switching from one side to the other is a good idea......

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies!