Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Well, I'm going to be done with my BS by the end of this year, and I'm trying to figure out what to do with myself. My degree is in finance, I enjoy the field, but it's not my passion, motorcycles are! I probably should've been a mechanical engineer, but I don't want to take another 3 years to do that seeing as how I should've graduated last year.

I'd like to get into something creative, I want to have my own race/tuning shop and build custom sportbikes some day. For those who work in the industry, what would you recommend? I'm a fair wrench, but I don't have formal training.

Essentially, how can I get into the industry with a business degree but do something that's actually related to motorcycles, preferably hands on? Would I have a shot at a junior management position or some such at a dealership or shop?

·
Patriot Guardian
28,016 Posts
You've gotta want to do it because you love it because you sure as heck ain't gonna get rich!

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Didn't they teach you anything in school? I pound nails for a living but look in the industry your interested and getting in is first thing. Look what I found without even trying.

Jobs, Employment, Careers - Kawasaki Motors Corp USA
Thank you for your help, but you obviously misunderstood my question. I'm perfectly capable of finding job openings in giant companies like KHI. ;) What I want to know is more in-depth information on the industry. Who typically staffs the product development departments? If I did take a financial or marketing job at a big company, how hard would it be to jump into product development or testing at the same company?

·
Vintage bike addict
4,812 Posts
I doubt anyone can answer those questions. Each organization is different. If that is where your interests lie then take an entry position at some level and work toward the position you want.

·