Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
412 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I’m new here, just wanted to say “Hi” and ask a couple of question.

First I’ll be 45 next month and live in Arkansas. I started riding dirt bikes at 13 (Honda 70). Got my first street bike at 15 (legal age in Texas then, not sure now). Had a lot of bikes after that. Stopped riding about 14 years ago, girlfriend at time did not like them and none of my friends at the time rode. So I sold my 85 Yamaha Maxim 650. Last bike I owned. Best friend just took up riding with his dad and I have decided I want to get back in also. Friends dad has an old 80 Honda Hawk 400 he uses to play on that I have been riding for a couple of weeks to get the hang again. Now I want my own! I’ve been looking at the Ninja 500R and really like that bike. I have had dual-purpose and cruisers all my life, always wanted a sportbike so that is what I’m looking at and fell for the 500R. I don’t want a monster right now, just something to enjoy. I see a lot of opinions on this bike here and the more I read the more I like it. :D

Couple of questions. What is a good full-face helmet? And does a flip up make much difference?

Second. A good jacket. I have been looking at the Joe Rocket Alter Ego because of its versatility. Any opinions on this one or others?

Just looking at what all I will need as I am looking for a bike. Still trying to decide on new or used. Have not made up my mind on that yet. But with the price of a new one, most people want nearly that much for used. :shock:

Just wanted to say Hi, and thanks for such a great board. People here treat you the same whether you’re a noob or a veteran rider. As long as I have been out I consider myself very close to a noob.

Later all!

·
Registered
2,159 Posts
SOME ANSWERS