Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm think of getting either the 2018 400, or a 2017\2018 650. This will be my first motorcycle. I grew up riding dirt bikes, but haven't been on one years. I learn quickly, and can get bored easily. I like them both because from what I've read, it should take a while to out grow either of them, especially the 650. It will be my daily, and occasional track bike, as long as it isn't raining, and when it rains I have a car already. I live in central California, so the weather is pretty good year round. What are your suggestions? Btw, I'm completely new to Reddit. Thank you for any and all replys.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I rode a 2018 model Ninja 650 for a couple of years as my first street bike after passing my test. I wrote about it here: Why I chose the Kawasaki Ninja 650 as my first big bike – East London Advanced Motorcyclists

I also made a few videos with it. This is what it sounds like:

If you like the sporty looks with the fairing, but want a bit of comfort as well (not being on your wrists and giving your lower back a break) and are looking only for safe and legal street and road performance, I don't think there's another option in that engine capacity class in the market.

The OEM tyres are OK in the dry but not great when wet. I changed them after 4k miles.

The only other modification I made to it was replace the fork springs and oil with progressive springs from Hyperpro, as the OEM ones were way too soft.

On the dislike side, I started getting annoyed with the lack of fork adjustment and the limited preload adjustment (and difficulty getting to it!) on the rear. Fairing removal was also quite a faff.

If you're looking for track performance or carrying passengers, you will find its limitations after a while.