Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi.

My name is Matt. Im 28, i live in upstate NY. (Poughkeepsie)

So ive been riding dirt bikes since i was 12 years old and last week i made the step up to a street bike. I havent got my learners permit yet or anything but i went to price a few bikes and when i saw this bright orange Z1000 sitting there i didnt want to pass up the chance to buy it. Plus once i sat on the thing and my ass slid perfectly into the seat i knew this bike was made for me.

Its kinda scary that they will insure and register a bike for you in NYS without a class M license. Ive been trying so hard to be good and not to ride it and for the most part ive succeded. I took it out in front of my house a few times and did some figure 8's but i really dont wanna mess around and get pulled over and have the bike confiscated.

So anyway i have NO FRIENDS that ride. They all want to ride but the lack of credit and/or money keeps them from purchasing a motorcycle. Personally i think $8000 is a small price to pay to be able to have a spiritual experience everytime you need to go somewhere.

Im wondering if anyone lives in my area and is looking for a biker buddy. Im gonna get my permit test done next week and i know ill pass because ive read the NYS manual about 15 times since i got my bike last week.

It also seems like a pain in the butt to take your road test for a cycle cuz in Dutchess county you have to show up with another licensed motorcycle rider and like i said, i know nobody.

So maybe through my new found love for street bikes and my posting on this forum ill make a few new friends.

I hope so.

Im also looking for some local motorcycle clubs in this area.

Any help would be appreciated, or if anyone just wants to BS about bikes, im totally obsessed.

Cya.

Matty.

[/img]

·
Motorcycle Momma
839 Posts
got the bug huh?