Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I changed the oil in my bike, which I flooded yesterday. Now it won't idle. Took the air filter off and there's still gas coming out of the carb. It will run in 1st, but when I hit the clutch to shift the bike cuts off. Any suggestions? I'm new to this.

·
Registered
4,807 Posts
Your carb needs attention. Either:

1. Needle and seat are full of gunk.
2. Needle and seat need replacing.
3. Float is a sinker.
4. Float is out of adjustment.

If you would like to tackle this but do not feel confidant, get a service manual for your bike. It will describe step by step how to repair your carb.
Do not run anymore until you get this repaired as gas running down into the oil is not what the engine likes in order to live a long life!

Post back with how you make out and any questions.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I changed the plugs, took apart and cleaned the carb, and it's pretty much doing the same thing. Anyone know of a good mechanic in the Rocky Mount/ Wilson, NC area? I want it running right!!

·
Registered
4,807 Posts
If you do not have a service manual, get one. It will guide you through how to repair your carb.
Give it one more try before you concede to someone else. It will be a good learning experience, if nothing else, and will only cost you the price of the manual (which you should have, anyways) and possibly a part or two.

Post back with how you make out.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Would a new fuel filter be a good idea? I will buy the manual and see what I can do today or tomorrow. Thanks.

·
Registered
4,807 Posts
Follow the recommendation for the filter change as called out in your new service manual. It won't hurt anything to change out, but probably will not fix your problem, unless it has a hole in the filter media!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #8