Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Learning To Ride .
290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to say Hi and Tell you a little about How I got here . First off I am 39 and always had an interest in motorcycles but for some reason I just never did it . I was a Mechanic until I had a bad car accident in 1989 . It left me Disabled . So I do have a lot of not wonted time on my hands and I like to tinker with things . I came across this Kawasaki KZ440 . I asked around the people that had it told me they got it off of some one that was going to scrap it do to he lost the Title ( He has died since ) and they thought there son might have an interest in it . He did not have one do to it was from 1980 (it was to old and it needed to much ) . Yes it is old and Yes it needs a lot . They told me if I wont it take it so I took it . This was 3 day ago and yes if it was a basket case it might have been easier . I have never driven a motor cycle so I thought this will be my first . The one that I rebuilt not something off over the show room . I will have to find a doner bike or hit ebay hard for some parts but it will get done . I got it running yesterday for the first time for hew now how long but it dose run and idles
nice . After I got it home I hit the net for info and found this forum and I got most of the info I needed . I think it is nice to save things .

Mike

·
Sick Puppy
3,210 Posts
Congrats on your find, I always liked the KZ440 though never had one. Glad you found your way to the Forum it's a nice group of people. Were you able to get a title for the bike, or plan for getting one with the doner?

·
Registered
10,122 Posts
Welcome Mike! Welcome to the motorcycle world! If you search over in the vintage threads you might find some good info on your project scoot,

It would be a really good move to sign up & take the MSF coarse. You'll learn how to ride & learn correctly. Very short coarse & well worth the time!!