Kawasaki Motorcycle Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey all, thinking of picking up a zzr600. They are running pretty cheap. I may have a deal on a new left over 2008 model for around 5500. Is it cold blooded on cold days due to carbs? also i am 6ft and around 215pounds is it enough for a sportsbike beginner? I should say I just sold my 1600 classic (bored with it).I have never been on a sportsbike and love to try it, just don't want to spend to much on one in case it's not for me. I know it is old technology but i like the way it looks. any thoughts or comments would be appreciated.
thanks everyone
josh

·
Registered
11 Posts
I just bought a 2008 ZZR600 with 2600 miles from my friend at work for $3,800. There are a couple good deals out there. I saw one go for $4000 the other day on E-bay.

I'm 5'10 265 and I just started riding. Took the MSF safety course got my license and now bought this bike. I wish i could tell you more but it seems like a great 1st bike =)

Yes it is cold blooded, it can be a pain to start on cold mornings.

·
'07 ZZR600
2,363 Posts
the zzr600 is NOT a cold blooded bike... all you have to do is wait until the idle evens out... takes about a minute. an ex250 is a good example of a cold blooded bike.... it needs a good 10 minute warm up and lots of choke, the zzr doesn't.

·
Registered
1 Posts
x2 the previous owner of my ZZR600 told me the bike is cold blooded. 34* outside and it starts faster than my fuel injected R6 did on cold mornings.

Turn the choke on, first time it cranks over it will start up. I don't ride my bike until the temperature gauge reads 120 or higher, maybe these people just want to turn the bike on and start going immediately? I start it, wait until the idle comes up a bit then shut the choke off, let it warm up for a few minutes then go ride with no problems.